ASR Scientists Receive Honors at 2019 American Meteorological Society Meeting

Published: 25 February 2019

Every year the American Meteorological Society (AMS) presents awards to members of the weather, water, and climate community during its annual meeting. Several scientists recently or currently funded by the Atmospheric System Research (ASR) program received honors during the January 2019 meeting in Phoenix, Arizona.
Christopher Bretherton, a professor of atmospheric sciences and applied mathematics at the University of Washington, received one of the society’s three lectureships for outstanding mid-career scientists. Bretherton was named the Bernhard Haurwitz Memorial Lecturer “for fundamental advances in understanding cloud processes across scales from turbulence and convection to atmospheric waves and large-scale circulations.” He gave the Haurwitz Lecture at the 15th Conference on Cloud Physics/15th Conference on Atmospheric Radiation in July 2018 in Vancouver, British Columbia.
Bretherton became an AMS Fellow in 2004. He received the Jule G. Charney Award in 2012 for his research in atmospheric moist convection and an AMS Editor’s Award in 2002, recognizing his work as a reviewer for Journal of the Atmospheric Sciences.
Samson Hagos, an atmospheric scientist at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL) in Richland, Washington, received the Clarence Leroy Meisinger Award. The award, given to an early career scientist, recognized Hagos for his “novel use of observations, theory, and modeling to advance understanding of tropical convection and its interactions with the large-scale circulation.”
Hagos is a research lead for a three-year science focus area project at PNNL, the Integrated Cloud, Land-Surface, and Aerosol System Study (ICLASS).
Joyce Penner, the Ralph J. Cicerone Distinguished University Professor of Atmospheric Science at the University of Michigan, became a 2019 AMS Fellow.
“Those eligible for election to Fellow shall have made outstanding contributions to the atmospheric or related oceanic or hydrologic sciences or their applications during a substantial period of years,” states the AMS constitution. Fellows are elected each year at the AMS council’s fall meeting from a pool of no more than two-tenths of 1 percent of all AMS members.
In recent ASR work by Penner, she and University of Michigan colleague Cheng Zhou compared model simulations of aerosol effects on clouds and precipitation with data from the U.S. Department of Energy’s Atmospheric Radiation Measurement (ARM) user facility. The research revealed key differences between the results of the two models studied.
For a full list of 2019 award recipients, go to the AMS web page.
# # #
This work was supported by the U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Science, Office of Biological and Environmental Research as part of the Atmospheric System Research Program.